Skip to content

Happy Holidays

Dear Friends:

It has been a crazy year for me. I was president of my local professional society, my first grandchild was born (!) and I had to take the medical boards.

I wanted to end the blog famine, but the longer I went,  the guiltier I felt. Then I thought, enough with the self-recrimination, already! Let’s get this out there!

turkey tray

Gobble, gobble!

I’ve always loved Thanksgiving because it is not about consumerism, but rather about family and sharing. In that spirit I wanted to share a helpful post I found on tips for a healthier Thanksgiving dinner:

http://www.bestowed.com/blogs/learn/79475460-the-healthy-thanksgiving-strategy?utm_source=Bestowed+Master+List&utm_campaign=8aa3d12225-CONSUMER_thanksgiving_2015&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_0cb2a03026-8aa3d12225-90845685&mc_cid=8aa3d12225&mc_eid=2f7406d8ba

Alternatively, you can also take a vegetarian or vegan approach to your plate, and fill it 100% with grains, veggies, fruits and nuts.

a_vegetarian_thanksgiving_menu

If you peruse prior posts you will find many recipes and ideas for healthy, nutritionally dense and tasty dishes. The persimmon recipes alone are worth a read.

Most of all, take time for  gratitude, for friends, for family, and for the great abundance we enjoy in this country. Consider donating to a local food bank or hunger project.

Have a joyous Thanksgiving!

Dr. Nolfo

 

 

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ellen Bernstein #

    Great post, great ideas, love the photos! Thanks so much. Ellen

    November 30, 2015
  2. Thanks! I had you in mind when I chose the photos.

    November 30, 2015
  3. Great Post. nice information

    February 28, 2017

Leave a Reply

